The Beatles Alarm Clock App

For Visual Aesthetics we had to create an alarm clock app for our final project.  We had the option of designing it in Illustrator, Photoshop or Flash and then had to give it some function in Flash.  I’m pleased with the design and layout of my project, I just wish I had been able to get it to function more in terms of navigability.  I ran into some problems that I couldn’t fix and had to do very basic navigation.

I wanted to use each silhouette to direct to a different feature.  The first one would take you to the alarm clock, second to the calendar, third to the radio and fourth to an iTunes image.  I was able to make that navigation work, but I had to make the buttons little rectangles that fit inside the silhouettes.  When it would go to the desired page the buttons would still be showing, so I made them numbers and put them outside of the iPhone.

No band will ever be better than The Beatles.

I needed to figure out a true/false statement that would make them visible on the home screen and invisible once they went to a new page.  Then when navigated back to the home page they would be visible again.  I also created buttons on each feature that would take you back to the home screen.  I went with the theme throughout to use the silhouetted images of The Beatles as the home button.  I couldn’t get these to work either because it kept saying it couldn’t recognize the movie clip that they were in.  I checked to make sure that everything was named properly and it was, but it still wouldn’t work.

Here is the code I had to use for the home screen navigation:

stop(); alarm_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_UP,buttonPressed1); function buttonPressed1(event:MouseEvent){ home_mc.gotoAndStop(2); }

calendar_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_UP,buttonPressed2); function buttonPressed2(event:MouseEvent){ home_mc.gotoAndStop(3); }

radio_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_UP,buttonPressed3); function buttonPressed3(event:MouseEvent){ home_mc.gotoAndStop(4); }

itunes_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_UP,buttonPressed4); function buttonPressed4(event:MouseEvent){ home_mc.gotoAndStop(5); }

I wanted to make my radio play Yellow Submarine when you click play. I used the actionscript and xml files that we used for our mp3 player in class. It wouldn't play even though no errors came up.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

